Thursday 19 July 2018 11:57:58 PM

Nominate Now for the GP of the Year Awards
More Storms Ahead For Dundrum Sea Wall August 2, 2012| Posted by | Comment on More Storms Ahead For Dundrum Sea Wall Comment

THE search has begun for this year’s RCGP Northern Ireland GP of the Year, the prestigious and unique award nominated solely by patients and delivered by the Royal College of General Practitioners Northern Ireland.

Chair of RCGP Northern Ireland Professor Scott Brown explains the idea behind the accolade. He said:  ‘The GP of the Year’ award recognises the exceptional care which a GP has provided for a patient or patients, which is above and beyond that which is normally expected. As the nominations come from the patients themselves, the award is held in very high esteem by the profession.

“It is humbling to hear of the huge appreciation patients have for the dedicated care from their personal GP.  Each year there are many worthy nominations and although there can only be one winner the reaction of patients themselves demonstrates the esteem many patients hold their own GP’s in.“

Packs have recently been issued to all GP practices across Northern Ireland containing a poster and a number of information leaflets for patients detailing how they can send in their testimonies about the outstanding care they have received from their GP.

The patient who submits the winning entry for GP of the Year and a guest will be invited to attend the Gala Awards Evening. The event will be held on Saturday 25th November at The Dunadry Hotel in Templepatrick, Antrim. All GPs in Northern Ireland are eligible for the award and the winning nomination will be chosen by members of the RCGP Northern Ireland Patients in Practice Group.

Also presented on the evening will be The Practice Administration Team of the Year Award, Practice Manager of the Year Award, and the Caring for Carers Award.

To receive a nomination form and nominate your GP, please contact the office on:

T: 028 9023 0055 or E: [email protected] or alternatively visit our website at for more information on all four awards.